Messing Around in my Sketchbook

While this blog is designed to show my working and thinking processes as I create work, it is still important to keep a sketchbook. Since I always end up doing things in photoshop, my sketchbook doesn’t tend to get filled up in an organic way. This week, I tried to fill some pages in my sketchbook and, since I’d effectively explained what I’d done on this blog, I ended up using my sketchbook to play around with layout.

72-page-2
A sample of images I found to use as a sort of mood-board for this years first project, arranged in three columns

I would like to design little books to accompany my work output this year, documenting my processes, research and final outcomes, however I lack the graphic design knowledge, In-Design experience, and mostly, the time to fix that.

Since I had so much raw imagery to print out to put in my book, I elected to print each image small, to save on costs. The most efficient way to do that was to print on a PC (gasp) and use the print wizard option to print multiple images per page. This left me with a large amount of small elements which I could attempt to arrange in an interesting way.

 

72-page1
Final outcome page for our first workshop. There’s a four column thing going on here, ruined by the final image. Better luck next time.

I wouldn’t be the first person to let costs influence their design choices. Working within my means is a really strong part of my design ethos and why I use photoshop to paint and cringe every time I have to print out digital content that the whole world can see just to make sure one or two specific people can see it.

72-page3
Experimental layout. Does this work? If the text was done in In-design, I think it probably would

I find myself in the very awkward position of having to do a greater deal of experimentation than I’ve ever done before, while simultaneously needing to present a singular design style which represents who I am and what I will contribute to the industry. This is brought into sharp relief right now as I hastily try to put together a portfolio to show employers to secure a work placement, that will represent a part of my final grade.

Wish me luck. I have I feeling I’m going to need it…

Leave a Reply

